pinterest-20pxgoodreads

 1242 Wilmette Ave., Wilmette, Illinois 60091  •  847-256-5025

Mon - Fri: 9 am - 9 pm

Sat:  9 am - 5 pm

Sun:  1 pm - 9 pm

Home Research A-Z Databases Database Category

Health and Medicine Databases at WPL

Consumer Reports and Cars Best Deal Plus   [Available remotely]
Features ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel. Also provided are product buying guides, blogs, safety alerts, recalls, and much more.

FirstSearch (call Ref Desk for login)   [Available remotely]
Several databases of academic and general interest articles as well as the OCLC network of library holdings across the country. Includes Worldcat, ABI-Inform, ArticleFirst, ERIC, GPO, Medline and much more. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number. Call the reference desk for login instructions).

GreenFILE   [Available remotely]
A research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Includes citations and full text articles.

Medical Guide Magill's   [Available remotely]
The online version of Magill's Medical Guide provides searchable and browsable access to the complete contents of the 4-volume print version.

Medline (call Ref Desk for login)   [Available remotely]
Index with abstracts to thousands of articles from medical journals. Library and remote access (contact library for login and password).

Reference Books Online (Gale Virtual Ref Lib)   [Available remotely]
A one-stop resource providing federated access to encyclopedias and specialized reference tools for multidisciplinary research. Includes access to hundreds of general reference titles once available only within the library.