pinterest-20pxgoodreads

 1242 Wilmette Ave., Wilmette, Illinois 60091  â€¢  847-256-5025

Mon - Fri: 9 am - 9 pm

Sat:  9 am - 5 pm

Sun:  1 pm - 9 pm

Home Research A-Z Databases Database Category

Science and Technology Databases at WPL

Encyclopedia of Global Warming (Salem Press)   [Available remotely]
The Encyclopedia of Global Warming provides searchable and browsable access to the full content of the three volume text edition.

GreenFILE   [Available remotely]
A research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Includes citations and full text articles.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia   [Available remotely]
One of the most thorough reference works on animals ever published, Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia offers articles about animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. Starting with the simplest life forms, the lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes, in volume 1, the series progresses through the more complex classes of animals, culminating with the mammals in volumes 12–16. Volume 17 is a stand-alone cumulative index. Library and remote access (with valid Wilmette/Kenilworth library card number).

Science in Context - Gale   [Available remotely]
Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

The Solar System   [Available remotely]
The Solar System provides essential coverage of all major aspects of Earth's solar system, from every feature of the major planets to their satellites, small bodies, interplanetary phenomena, and cosmological context. Coverage is presented in an A-Z format, and is supplemented by more than two hundred photos. For those wishing instant access to essays grouped by planetary system, a Category Index appears in the front of every volume.

Today's Science   [Available remotely]
Compiled especially for students, Today's Science provides comprehensive keyword-searchable access to authoritative and up-to-date articles on science-related topics.